Ethical Principles

All researchers and students engaging in academic activity at the University of Zurich must comply with stringent ethical principles. Compliance with ethical principles is a prerequisite for academic credibility, and underpins a researcher’s right to academic freedom.

Good Academic Practice

Researchers at UZH undertake to adhere to the rules of good academic practice and pass these values on to junior scholars and researchers. The ombudsperson at the faculty concerned is the first point of contact should suspicion of academic misconduct arise.
Ombudspersons at UZH
UZH Procedures upon Suspicion of Academic Misconduct (in German)

Academic Work as Part of Studies, Dealing with Plagiarism

All academic work – including work done in the course of study and teaching – must consistently disclose all sources of information.
Measures at UZH to Prevent, Detect, and Penalize Plagiarism

Research involving Human Beings

Research conducted at UZH involving human beings must be reviewed and approved by an ethics commission before experiments begin.
Research involving Human Beings

Animal Welfare and Experimentation

Animal welfare at UZH includes maintaining exemplary standards of animal care, providing the staff involved with the appropriate training, thoroughly planning experiments, and pursuing all possible means to reduce animal suffering.
Animal Welfare and Experimentation

Data Management

A proposal for a consistent approach to processing, archiving, and publishing research data is currently being formulated. You’ll find information and links on this topic here:
Research Data

Nagoya Protocol

Research at UZH is subject to terms regulating access to genetic resources and the fair and equitable sharing of benefits arising from their utilization. These terms are defined in the Nagoya Protocol.

Nagoya Protocol

Ethische Prinzipien

Alle Forschenden und Studierenden der Universität Zürich sind in der Ausübung ihrer wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit hohen ethischen Prinzipien verpflichtet. Das Einhalten der ethischen Prinzipien ist Voraussetzung für die Glaubwürdigkeit der Wissenschaft und begründet den Anspruch auf Forschungsfreiheit.

Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis

Forschende der UZH halten die Regeln guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis ein und vermitteln diese an den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. Die Vertrauenspersonen der Fakultäten sind die ersten Ansprechpersonen bei Verdacht auf wissenschaftliches Fehlverhalten.
Vertrauenspersonen
Weisung zum Verfahren beim Verdacht der Unlauterkeit in der Wissenschaft

Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten im Studium, Umgang mit Plagiaten

Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten ist der konsequenten Offenlegung von Informationsquellen verpflichtet, auch in Lehre und Studium.
Massnahmen der UZH zu Vorbeugung, Entdeckung und Sanktionierung von Plagiaten

Forschungsvorhaben an und mit Menschen

Forschungsvorhaben an und mit Menschen, die an der UZH durchgeführt werden, müssen vor Versuchsbeginn von einer Ethikkommission geprüft und bewilligt werden.
Forschungsvorhaben an und mit Menschen

Tierschutz

Durch vorbildliche Tierhaltung, sachgerechte Ausbildung der beteiligten Personen, sorgfältige Versuchsplanung und Nutzung aller Möglichkeiten zur Leidensverminderung der Tiere wird dem Tierschutz an der UZH Rechnung getragen.
Tierschutz

Daten Management

Ein Vorschlag für eine konsistente Vorgehensweise bei der Verarbeitung, Archivierung und Publikation von Forschungsdaten wird im Moment erarbeitet. Informationen und Links zu diesem Thema erhalten Sie hier:
Forschungsdaten